This time of year is typically when the rumor mill about the "American Idol" judging panel starts to heat up. And with the future of Jennifer Lopez and Steven Tyler up in the air after an up-and-down two year run on the show, the latest name in the hopper is season eight runner-up Adam Lambert.

And while E! News reported on Monday that reps for the glammy singer have been in talks for over a month for him to join "Idol," that was news to Lambert. In an interview with British radio station Capital FM on Monday, Lambert tried to tamp down the rumors while simultaneously fanning the flames.

"I’m just hearing about this today as well and so what a beautiful rumor," Lambert told the station about the stories swirling about who might sit at the table for season 12. "Listen, if — and I say ‘if’ with a capital I-F — if they were to approach me and if they were to say, ‘We want you to be a judge on the show,’ I would love that. I would jump at the chance." The singer released a statement on Monday reiterating that sentiment, which read, "’Idol’ has an amazing history of introducing great musical talent, and I was very fortunate to have had the Idol stage play a big part in my career," he said. "IF ‘Idol’ wants to talk to me about Judging, I’d be more than flattered to have that conversation."

After coming in second to acoustic strummer Kris Allen in 2009, Lambert recently released his second major label album, Trespassing, and is currently on tour in support of it. "I’ve been a fan of the show since it’s been on television," he said. "I owe my career to ‘American Idol.’ I mean, if it weren’t for ‘American Idol,’ I doubt that . . . I would be sitting here with you . . . I think it would be really exciting to be sitting at a judging panel and trying to help people reach their dreams."

Lambert, who raised the level of artistry on the show to new heights during his run with a series of wholly original performances and risk-taking arrangements, conceded that he understands the reality of the gig. "It is a game, the show is a game show in some regards," he said about the popularity factor of "Idol" and the sometimes random nature of guessing viewer’s voting patterns. "It’s about talent but it’s also about strategy. It’s also about thinking it through and picking the right songs and all that … I would love to help."

This is not the first time Adam’s name has been tossed in the hopper as a potential "Idol" judge. When Simon Cowell was preparing to leave in 2010, stories emerged that Lambert was on the short list of possible replacements. But not for long. "I would be honored to be asked, but I think at this point I’m just focusing on my career as a recording artist," he said at the time, less than a year after releasing his major-label debut, For Your Entertainment.